European Master in Software Engineering


The European Master in Software Engineering is a two-years master's course with a workload of 120 ECTS credits distributed across 4 semesters.

According to UPM enrollment policy, students shall have to make annual enrollment and to enroll annually for at least 12 European Credit Transfer System (ECTS) credits or what they lack to complete studies. However, it is recommended to enroll for between 27 and 33 ECTS per semester (1 ECTS credit is equivalent to a student workload of 27 hours). Therefore, the typical duration of the programme is 2 years.

Students will be considered to study on a part-time basis when the credits enrolled in the course do not exceed 30 ECTS annually.

The need for any curriculum adaptations, or alternative tracks or courses of study, for students with disability-related special educational needs shall be assessed in conformance with the provisions of R.D. 1393/2007.

Degree Programme Structure

The European Master in Software Engineering is a 120 ECTS credit programme distributed across 4 semesters. Instruction is divided into modules and further into subjects:

More information:

This table shows the EMSEE modules and subjects

Modules Subjects Required ECTS per Module
Software Development 14
Project Management and Organizational Processes 8
Support Processes 14
Advanced Software Engineering Aspects
  • Optional subjects
Software Project
  • Software Project
Master Thesis
  • Master Thesis

In this master's programme it was considered that the best way to ensure an updated educational offer, able to react quickly in response to any technological, professional, or academic change that might happen, was to include an open block of elective subjects and seminars, annually revised and updated, considering also the previous student demand. This elective offer will be annually composed, and approved by the master's Academic Committee.

Programme Schedule

Credits 30 ECTS 30 ECTS 30 ECTS 30 ECTS

Compulsory Courses

Software Project (14 ECTS)

Master Thesis
(30 ECTS)
Elective Courses Choose 6 ECTS Choose 18 ECTS Choose 16 ECTS